Review The Great Solar Eclipse (EF 16.5)

Note from Admin:

Mbak Yo actually already finished this post from last week and we should have published the post a week ago. We really sorry especially to Mbak Yo and Nadia for the delay. However, we can never say thanks enough for Mbak Yo’s and all the mentors patience and generosity and all of you for keep coming back here.

This week we published review of Nadia’s post answering our challenge on the topic, and below is the review from Mbak Yo:

======

Am I too late to talk about it, guys? Well, on the last solar eclipse moment I was having my daughter sick at home so I didn’t really enjoy it. As well as I didn’t have any chance to go to the mosque for doing the prayer. Although these sentences are grammatically correct but it is better to say: during the last Solar Eclipse (moment is unnecessary)  I stayed at home because my daughter was sick so I didn’t neither enjoy it nor had I any chance to go to the mosque for a prayer. But let me put my two cents about it. Actually, I felt lucky to be here, alive, when this wonderful natural phenomenon occurred. For it happened once in so many many years, everyone might agree to call it a once in a lifetime event. Then it’s it was (it’s is a shorthened version of it is, present tense while the tense used in this sentence is past tense) undeniably wonderful since no other power than His which (which is unnecessary) can make the earth, moon, and the sun conjuncted on the same line like this. Subhanalloh I personally feel felt (past tense) grateful and thrilled at the same time.

Why thrilled? Because it’s it was (it’s is a shorthened version of it is, present tense while the tense used in this sentence is past tense) so beautiful yet I was afraid it stayed still, and the sun would shine no more. Regarding to this event, people had their own belief and ways to enjoy it (it refers to this event = the solar eclipse). Some of them were travelling travelled (past tense not past continuous  because people had done this. Kalau memakai kata were travelling artinya orang-orang masih di dalam perjalanan, sementara travelled artinya orang telah selesai bepergian dan telah tiba di tempat tujuan) far away to find the best spot, taking pictures  , the other were praying and contemplating, praying and taking pictures afterwards, some are were making memes (disini bisa memakai past continuous tense – were praying, contemplating, taking pictures, making memes karena orang-orang sibuk memotret pada saat itu juga, di waktu lampau), and so on.

Bekasi strikes   stroke again. LOL!

I was in Bandung and there were no special changes on the routines. In the morning, the moslems were praying at the mosques and then they going went to work as usual. The sky was darker, though it looked like it was cloudy.

Despite all the things, I like the idea of Indonesian Ministry of Tourism about the special event in some cities to attract tourists  visiting to visit Indonesia. Nothing was wrong with that. We knew that our country was going viral as more people paid attention during this. I could say that the ministry took this chance very well. Has anyone here gone been (Has anyone here gone is grammatically correct but the normally in English it is Has anyone here been …) to those particular cities to see the solar eclipse? Or  did you maybe just stayed  stay at home swinging toddler a lullaby like me? Tell me about it.

My note:
I would lik e to explain the use of the words neither nor. Nor is always paired with neither beforehand. We can use neither as a conjunction with nor. It connects two or more negative alternatives. The original sentences Nadia wrote are: Well, on the last solar eclipse moment I was having my daughter sick at home so I didn’t really enjoy it. As well as I didn’t have any chance to go to the mosque for doing the prayer. These are two negative sentences: …so I didn’t really enjoy it and I didn’t have any. To conjuct these sentences together I use neither and nor, like this: during the last Solar Eclipse (moment is unnecessary)  I stayed at home because my daughter was sick so I didn’t neither enjoy it nor had I any chance to go to the mosque for a prayer

Nadia, you did very good. The faults are minimum and I see that your vocabulary is well improved, keep it up!

One thought on “Review The Great Solar Eclipse (EF 16.5)

Leave a Reply

